Don’t make me go Vinny Jones on yer ass….

Posted: May 19, 2011 in WTF???

Okay, so, sigh, no love for FullMetal, I see how it is…so, back to fun with medical professionals.  I have now called both the hospital and my back dock about a zillion times trying to solve the referral problem, and have been told a billion times that it will get straightened out and “someone will get back to me” and as of yet…after several days…my phone ain’t ringing, even though I sure as heck have not stopped calling them.

I think it is time to send in Vinny Jones.  Okay, not necessarily Vinny, but maybe one of his characters, like Bullet Tooth Tony or The Surgeon.  I have come to the conclusion my weekend plans now include driving to the hospital with the referral I have IN my hand and not leaving until this shit gets settled.  Should that not work, I will either call Vinny Jones or go Vinny Jones on these people.

And they wonder why people hate both doctors and insurance companies so much.  Real mystery, eh?

Grumble.

Comments
  1. Erik Schwarz says:

    I am just too old-school to have anything enlightening to say about anime. I like the little of it that I have seen – mostly Miyazaki’s classics – but do not know enough to offer intelligent commentary. As Wile E. Coyote once said, “”Whereof one cannot speak, thereof one must be silent.”

    Vinny Jones is another matter. Love the bloke. Even prepared to forgive his playing two seasons for Chelsea (I am a rabid Tottenham Hotspur supporter). As for his film ouevre, please allow me to recommend “The Midnight Meat Train,” produced by Clive Barker and adapted from one of his short stories.

    A “Meat Train” viewing might get you in the mood for your weekend hospital jaunt. Though I wonder whether Gandhi might be a more effective model than Jones for this situation. How about chaining yourself to the administrator’s desk and declaring a general strike until your paperwork is processed?

    • Ren says:

      Viiny Jones is full of awesome. And check out FullMetal, it really IS good.

      Heh, I dunno, I dont think I have a Ghandi gene anywhere in my body.

      • Erik Schwarz says:

        You may not want a Gandhi gene. Although in the West he is loved uncritically and taken to be sort of a cross between St Francis and Yoda, South Asians have very mixed feelings about Gandhi. Many feel he was manipulative, unrealistic and myopically self-righteous, and some hold him responsible in varying degrees for the 1947 Partition. A truly horrific event: up to 1 million killed and 15 million made homeless. The effects continue to this day, with ongoing violence in Jammu and Kashmir and the Punjab, not to mention the problematics of Pakistan, in which the U.S. is now embroiled. Never underestimate the power of nonviolence to create horror.

  2. Well I should have commented yesterday! I downloaded FMA based on yesterday’s post…sounded interesting. Of course I don’t mind hot women in my entertainment, but I *do* get irritated when hot women gratuitously wear clothes utterly unsuited for what they do just to give guys a chance to fantasise…so what you said about how it treats the female characters sounded good.

    And re Ghandi…people always hold him up as an example of the success of non-violence (except as Erik mentions). But they ALSO forget that Gandhi moved in on a power vacuum…the Japanese absolutely kicked the shit out of the British in Asia in WW2 which had a lot to do with why the British had to get out of India. But people who don’t like violence somehow get the message that empires can be defeated peacefully. Crazy talk.

  3. Hey, I already said on the shorter post that FMA was going straight on my wishlist, I didn’t realise I was expected to repeat the assertion that you’re very good at helping me spend my money on media!

    As for Vinnie Jones – I remember watching him on the soccer field as well, and – yep, that’s the guy to channel to get ragey with someone!

  4. Roy Kay says:

    Yep. Personal meat-space calls seem to often get the best results. PITA, though.

  5. Aspasia says:

    Love Vinny Jones! We have the same birthday too, so I think we may be soulmates. Anyhow, don’t get me started on those damned insurance companies. They insisted repeatedly that maman prove that she had a stroke… even after her doctors submitted all the relevant paper work and tests. Incredible.

Leave a Reply

