Albums you can just listen to, over and over and over….

Posted: January 10, 2012 in Drugs & Rock n Roll

I have a few:

 

#1:  Pink Floyd, The Wall  – sorry, its true, ya don’t like?  Fuck you  🙂

#2: Siousxsie & The Banshees, Juju

#3: NIN, Year Zero

# 4: Korn, Issues

#5: Ozzy, Bark at the Moon  (sorry, its an inner werewolf thing  lol)

#6: Duran Duran, Duran Duran

and I can listen to Johnny Cash and/or Led Zepplin  ALL DAY, EVERY DAY.  (Ask Shen)

 

So, what are your essentials?

Comments
  1. rootietoot says:

    Oh gosh, buncha classical stuff- Ravel, Debussy, Aaron Copeland, Phillip Glass. Also Pink Floyd (yes, The Wall, I’m not a hater), Led Zeppelin, and ok fine…yes…ABBA. Don’t hate me. They harmonize well.

  2. If I could only listen to one album for the rest of time, it would be Dark Side. Ozzy, yes. Duran Duran, yes. NIN yes. Johnny Cash and Led Zep, yes yes. Also, My Chemical Romance. Living Color – Vivid. Pearl Jam – Ten and vs. Temple of the Dog.

  3. Daddy’s flown across the ocean
    Leaving just a mem-or-reeeeee

    I also love UmmaGumma and Meddle (old PF) as well as Animals, DSOTM (standard) and Wish you were here.

    Odds and Sods and Who’s Next by the Who

    Reckoning, American Beauty, Workingman’s Dead, by the Grateful Dead (I play Blues for Allah when in introspective mood)

    Fun House by the Stooges –Iggy has serenaded me for about 40 yrs now.

    White Light, White Heat, Velvet Underground

    Never Mind the Bollocks, here’s the Sex Pistols

    Exodus. Bob Marley and the Wailers

  4. Its still fun to play “Careful with that ax Eugene” for unsuspecting people! LOL

    • xena says:

      Cream. BBC Sessions.

      My mom says she was at the concert where Ginger Baker was so high he fell off the stage. I think that was New York? 68? Of course, Mom said a lot of things after her stroke. She also said the accoustics were bad and they sounded like crap.

      Good band, tho. My faves are White Room and Sunshine of Your Love..

  5. Your albums 1, 2, 5 and 6

    Slayer- Reign in Blood

    Violent Femmes- Violent Femmes

    Corrosion of Conformity- Animosity

    Gwar- Scumdogs of The Universe

    Simon and Garfunkle-Parsley, Sage, Rosemary and Thyme

    Megadeth- Peace Sells But Who’s Buying

    The Ramones- Greatest Hits Live

  6. rootietoot says:

    Oh and Mike Oldfield: Tubular Bells, Ommadawn, Music of the Spheres (his newest release)…that man can play a guitar.
    Pat Metheney, American Garage, The Way Up
    Mark Elf (old timey swing guitar)
    Emerson, Lake and Palmer (Greg Lake can sing me to sleep ANYTIME)
    Alan Parsons Project (I heard he was the sound engineer for Pink Floyd)
    Steely Dan-Aja
    Miriam Stockley (the woman’s got a set of pipes like an organ)

    • xena says:

      Hey! I just looked that up. Tubular Bells is the creepy piano (bell?) music from The Exorcist. Maybe I’ll check it out without the disgusting visuals. It might be kinda soothing.

  7. Schubert’s Unfinished Symphony (usually with Betthoven’s 5th on the flipside of the vinyl, I don’t know why orchestras tend to pair those two, but they do)
    Mahler’s 1st Symphony (I doubt it’s a coincidence that these two are pieces I played with an orchestra on)

    Queen – A Day At The Races
    Metallica – S&M
    Coope Boyes & Simpson – What We Sing Is What We Are
    Talis Kimberley – Hearth & Hive
    Kirsty McGee – Frost
    Nirvana – Nevermind

    Actually, there’s loads. These are just a few that spring to mind.

  8. xena says:

    Tool – Lateralus and the soundtrack from Queen of the Damned.

    • xena says:

      I almost forgot, since I’m doing 2001 a leather&lace oddyssey: My all-time favourite piece of genderbending performance art. This is a story about a transgendered youth who suffers a botched sex change to escape communist East Berlin. Hedwig. My karaoke hero/ine.

  9. Oh hell yeah! How could I forget Hedwig!?

Leave a Reply

