The Elephant in the Room and Other Stories: A Prologue

Posted: September 17, 2011 in "Those People", Blogging, Humans, The Hardline According to Ren

So, I was loungin’ in my modern den of inequity (firearms & liquor welcome!) furrowing my crooked eyebrows and cursin’ the government for makin’ cold meds that contain pseudoephedrine behind the counter, one box per customer and requiring of ID and leaving of address…because I actually have a goddamn cold, people…so being me I made someone else buy ‘em for me.  After all, with my burn scar, sketchy tattoos and such I don’t wanna be seen, let alone documented, buying shit that oh, one might use for the production of crank, and I came to a wildly profound realization:

Y’all are gonna be in for a real shocker here:

I am one pissed off, burned out, angry, disappointed and bitter gal-which you all knew already I reckon, but then I got to thinking about the why for of that- aside from just being wired that way and predisposed to it- and truth is, much of my…ahem…loathing of my fellow human, regardless of race, nationality, gender, sexuality, or religion…comes about from what many people would consider little nit picks but they really aren’t, and in my most recent and amazingly laughable and frustrating trip around blogland, I have come to the conclusion that there is shit that I figure needs discussing and no one else out there, not the big shiny blogs, not the hipster feminist blogs, not the cool kids smarter, better, richer and worldlier than you blogs, not the males dealing with gender stereotype blogs, are gonna do it.  So I guess I  have to.

And I can almost promise a lot of the shit I’m gonna say?  Well a lot of those who read here aren’t gonna like it.  But, interestingly enough, I got an email today from a fellow blogger who said she and another blogger familiar with me were discussing me and my blogging, and what kept them coming back was that even if they did not agree with me, or if I pissed ‘em off, or I was caustic and hostile or whatever the fuck other charming thing I might be… I was honest, called it like I saw it, remained consistent, and did not alter or change my views like some wishy-washy dish rag lookin’ to win a popularity contest.  And you know what?  They’re right.  Besides, I ain’t never won a popularity contest in my life and I reckon I am not about to start now. The simple fact is, I don’t much give a fuck if people agree with me or not, because you know-sometimes I am just right and like it or not, folk are gonna have to suck that up and deal with it. Like it or not.  I am not afraid to call it like I see it, so I will.  And I am not afraid to say shit other people won’t and in truth, I am sick to death of pansy ass whiners who dodge any topic or issue that is hard to deal with or unpopular and won’t take a fuckin’ stand because it might tarnish their gold plated liberal creds.  I am even sicker of folk statin’ shit like it is word one handed down from some omnipotent being and utter fact then refusing to be challenged on it.   I see so much holier than thou gender is bunk feministy uber academia liberalese wanna be genius bullshit out there that is missing so many basics it just makes me wanna puke…so fuck it.  I am done.  Done bein’ nice and civil and sugar coating shit.  Done with not challenging the way people think and see shit.  Hell, apparently I had a knack for that back at the old joint, so let’s see if I can kick folk in the grey matter with a verbal steel toed boot here.  I am done with makin’ shit easy and  the rest of that crap.  If people don’t want to think, they can go elsewhere, it’s that simple.  So, let’s get to it people.  Let’s get to the dirty business  that ain’t easy and popular, and lets start with the biggest Elephant in The Room: Class.

I hear you now, “here she goes again” but guess what?  Class is the one thing missing from just about every fucking discussion on every goddamn thing out there. People love to discuss and debate race and gender and sexuality and all those things but class?  Oh no, we can’t touch that one with a ten foot fuckin’ pole, at least not with any seriousness, and you wanna know why?  Because classism is a dirty, dirty topic for dirty, dirty people and holy shit, it just don’t affect women, or people of color, it can affect….anyone, and everyone, including…white folk, and…yep, white dudes!  And they are eeeevil, so everyone just brushes class and classism under the rug and leaves it pretty much out of any discussion about anything and by doing so manage to make themselves look like self righteous fools who believe in fairies. unicorns and that everyone out there has dreams of sugar plumbs and PhD’s and can afford one or both of them. 

Well, here is a little reality and hardline for ya, folks.  Class can and does affect people just as much as race, or gender, or sexuality or any one of those other things people love to discuss.  Just like other so called advantages in life, being of, from, or in a higher class strata makes life easier for you, and just like other disadvantages in life, being of, from, or in a lower class strata can make life harder for you, and all the shit that goes with it- all of it- can and often does erase other advantages lower class people have in life.  Point blank, right there, between the eyes.  If people think you’re trash, they don’t much care what color you are, what god you worship, what’s between your legs or who you prefer fucking.  They simply disdain you, regardless of any other adjective that falls before the word trash.

And how do I know this?  Well, I know it, just like I know the sun rises in the morning and oceans have tides and the V8, enviro-friendly or not, kicks ass, because I have seen it with my own eyes.  I know from that great bastard of a teacher: experience.  The truth of that has been shown to me, again and again and again, and like anyone, I find proof in repeated case studies and experiments and via facts in evidence.  And even amid the low class, there is one group, a sordid, unsavory subset worthy of nothing but contempt, mocking and disdain, and that group is low class white folk.  White trash.  The lowest of the low.  The last bastion of acceptable hatred, the remaining dregs of human scum it is sporting to make fun of, the one group of subhuman filth the New, Modern, PC World reckons it is okay to rag on; without shame, guilt, or repercussion.  Hell, its funny to pick on those sorts, all in good fun and edgy and shit.  Hillbillies, Hicks, Rednecks, Trailer Park Trash, White Folk of a low socio-economic stations, they are fair game, the men and the women alike, and you can see these pariahs lambasted in everything from high brow indy theater to kids cartoons, and its all A-Okay.  Some of the old Looney Toon’s episodes have been locked away forever because of their insulting racial connotations, but flip on Nickelodeon and sure enough, you will see parodies of poor white folk everywhere.  It’s okay to pick on them-even in front of children, some of whom may be “those people”.  Why?

Well, they are…gasp…white folk.  And white folk, well, you know, they are supposed to have it all: all that privilege and power and money, nice things and good educations and the best things in life because well, they are white folk.  If they are white and blue collar or even worse-poor, well shit, they must have…done something wrong.  Be off somehow.  Fucked up.  They must be…well, inbred or dumb or lazy.  They must be drunks or junkies or the products of poor breeding.  Or Irish.  They, those super privileged above all white people-especially the male ones- they are supposed to, by legend and the annals of the Oppression Olympics and by sheer force and determination, have it all.  The White Collar I Won the Game American Dream on a Silver Platter: a quiche (fixed by a domestic) in every oven, a BMW in every garage, a double mochachino in every hand, perfect partners and 2.2 children, headed for Harvard!  White people are…special and lucky and rule the world right?  So if they don’t manage to oh, have the right house in the right neighborhood with the right look and all that right stuff white people are fabled to have…well, then there must be something wrong with those under-achieving loathsome scum.  They must be deeply flawed.  If they live in crap neighborhoods in crap houses (or trailers) with crap jobs and crap lives and problems, well, they obviously failed at winning the white privilege game and thus they are: trash.  Go ahead and rag on them, because even with all that white advantage (especially the dudes) they still managed to turn their lives into a giant shit sandwich and they deserve it.  They have weird ways and don’t fit in with the little white li(f)e and aren’t special.  They, more than any other remaining group of people, are fair game for anyone and anything and no hit is below the belt.  Hillbillies and Hicks and Rednecks and White Trash are the perpetrators of hate speech and hate crimes, right?  They are never on the receiving end, right?

Bullshit.  Turn on your television, or radio, or go to a movie, or read a book, or look at a newspaper, or hell, think of every joke about West Virginia, Alabama, Ohio, Georgia, Nebraska, Wyoming or Montana you have ever heard.  If you actually want me to cite specific examples, I can and will do so…I am a bit of a stickler for that.  And as the New American Nightmare, a Hick who not only likes guns, but has college degrees, I will say this: Everywhere I look -when people are writing about power, or politics, or gender, or feminism, or the sex industry, or just about any other fucking subject on the face of the earth they almost always leave class out of it, and they avoid talking about classism and its affects on white people like a rat with a broken leg would avoid a starving rattlesnake.  No one discusses this shit in depth. No one wants to be “that guy”.  It is the great white elephant in the room. 

That fuckin’ elephant is lookin’ at me.  I guess I am “that guy”. It’s part of the reason I am in fact one pissed off, burned out, angry, disappointed and bitter gal.  And sure as shit, I am just getting started…

Coming Soon: “We as a Society Seek to Help our Most Disadvantaged Citizens – If they Look The Part”, “Modern Feminism is for Women who don’t Really Have to Work for a Living: A Personal Tale”,  “Why Hipsters Should Replace Hillbillies, Rednecks and White Trash as Acceptable Humans for Mocking” and “Poor White Kids & Bored American Nobility- They all Just Wanna Die a Little Bit”  (not necessarily in that order)

*and yeah, totally love my 2 am with a cold self portrait!

Comments
  1. dead_vladimir says:

    1) love the art

    2) I think class is the real issue in America, the really rich that 1% everyone is whining about they don’t care if you are white or black or red or yellow, you are just a gamma to them if you aren’t one of t hem. Race, it’s smoke and mirrors, to keep us all distracted.

    Think about it -we have a black vote and a black caucus-like just because they are black -they;re interests should all align; like little children they can’t be complex or have serious issues on both sides (look for example how african americans who don’t toe that lien are called Uncle tom’s).
    Race is what allows whole groups to be easily manipulated.

    And why are white males villified? Because everyone needs a bogey man, I will admit it, I am a white male. And all my life i have people tel me since i am not a woman or black or Indian i can’t understand their experience; a priori I can never get it, no matter what since I am not of that group. Yet these same people who have never been a white male have no issue telling me how my experience through life has been.

    Instead I am vilified, told I had all sorts of opportunities i have never had. And it is such bull shit.
    talk about suffering discrimination by the color of your skin-welcome to being a white male, even if we grew up in a single parent house hold in a rotting rental, unable to keep power on all the times, with the joy of welfare and governemt cheese and single parenting, nope, we are evil and have had every advantage,

    Let me tell all you ivory tower people, you don’t know shit. what is good for the goose is good for the gander. if i can;’t say shit because you haven;’t walked a mile in my shoes then well it goes the same way.

    Great Post, but I think it will be interestign to see how it goes over.

    But as always , evil white male or not, I always got your back and you know it.

    • Ren says:

      I hear you on the “You can’t possibly know my experiences, but lemmie tell ya all about yours!” thing…100%

    • Think about it -we have a black vote and a black caucus-like just because they are black -they;re interests should all align; like little children they can’t be complex or have serious issues on both sides (look for example how african americans who don’t toe that lien are called Uncle tom’s).
      Race is what allows whole groups to be easily manipulated.

      I think (and fervently hope) that this will change with the younger generation that has had some benefit from going to school with, working with, being friends with, and sometimes dating and marrying those who are from outside of the community. The older generation of African-Americans (even if they are personally more non-black than black but whatever) will not see class before race considering the era they grew up in where no matter how nice you dressed/looked or your class status, you could still be targeted for nasty things like lynchings and crossburnings. These memories are still extremely vivid and while for everyone else, it’s been 50+ years, for them it’s like yesterday. One of maman’s friends had some very traumatic experiences as a young black girl in 1950s Mississippi who, though she was middle-class, was a victim of her family’s house being burned by Klan members and witnessed her uncle’s lynching. So yeah, she and many others of that era see almost everything through the lens of the American racial caste system. But she’s slowly coming around since her daughter married a white man (you can imagine the drama THAT produced!).

      That said Vlad, I 100% agree with your point because I do see the African-American and Latino communities (I’ve lived and am part of both) being horribly manipulated by both of the “official” political parties because of these issues.

  2. rootietoot says:

    There is so much to reply to here, I am going to have to think on it for a while, but let me start with

    BRA-FLAMIN-VO!

    Do you know how much it has bugged me over the years, when people would find out we lived in a housetrailer on a dirt road (because it was all we could afford) and then say “Oh. Well. Next time you’re in town come by for a visit” or when they’d come by our (clean, tidy) small old farmhouse we bought for $28K and fixed up and say “Oh. Well. How nice. Come by and see me next time you’re in town.” As if my character was determined by the things I owned. I’ve been treated like White Trash because I was poor and uneducated, and still am, because I don’t have a house in The Fine Neighborhood and have too many dogs (I LOVE DOGS) and listen to loud music and shoot guns but you know what?

    I don’t care.

    Classism isn’t just the property of feminists. Uuuuh Boy, can Southern White Women play that card, too.

    • Rootie,

      May I link to your post on this in my LJ? I’m thinking of linking both that and this and saying “People. Read this shit. Right now.”

    • Ren says:

      Its funny- even if your less that stellar accomodations are CLEAN, folk figure they can catch some horrible lingering downward spiral to trashville disease from folk who live in such places….ok, not funny, but rather..pathetic.

      • rootietoot says:

        Sad, really, because people who do that are shortchanging themselves out of opportunities for some pretty incredible friendships. Imagine, a real friend who doesn’t judge based on your possessions, but on your ability to have their back and have a good time that involves bottlerockets!

  3. […] in a while. In the wee hours of this morning, while I was asleep, a friend wrote a very interesting blog post about classism and while yes, she curses like a Friday Night Stevedore, she makes a few excellent points. That is, […]

  4. Brava!

    Everyone everywhere needs to read this post.

    And of course, the people who most need the knock on the head won’t bother, but such is life.

  5. D. says:

    If you don’t mind, I’m going to link to this.

    I suspect Americans who don’t have to deal with this head on, as you do, have trouble grappling with it because 1) We’re all supposed to be equal (hollow laugh) and 2) Marxist cooties.

    (I try to avoid making that kind of joke, but those jokes are particularly tenacious weeds.)

  6. Did I ever show you this? Titled — “How did the American Left lose the Working Classes?”
    http://daisysdeadair.blogspot.com/2010/10/yes-boys-and-girls-thats-our-discussion.html

    Worth reading for the comments, since it got linked in some interesting places: everyone has an opinion about why class is overlooked, unless they are arguing that it *isn’t.* (and I got somewhat nasty with one asshole.)

    Also, my obit of Joe Bageant: http://daisysdeadair.blogspot.com/2011/05/joe-bageant-1946-2011.html

    That one was linked on a fascinating LJ discussion, wish I could find it. She was trying to “prove” classism existed, and used the Bageant piece. People still argued with her that that it was an exaggeration.

    “No seriously what about teh menz” is the newest blog to piss me off with the classism-by-exclusion. Rather than get banned by STILL ANOTHER blog, I am laying low and trying not to let certain Feminist Critics refugees bait me with their bullshit. (growf!)

    I love you! You know that!

  7. I am in moderation due to linkage. Sorry about that!

    “Modern Feminism is for Women who don’t Really Have to Work for a Living: A Personal Tale” HAHAHA I went after our governor today (on the radio) for never having had a real job and calling working for her parents a real job. OHHH RIGHT! I’m sure the risk of being written up or fired is pretty ROUGH when DADDY is your boss!

    (growf again)

  8. Lilburn Lowell Decker says:

    By coincidence, just before I read your blog, I watched a BBC documentaries (via our Kentucky Educational Television) about life in Georgian England (roughly 1714-1830 but it also dealt briefly with the 16-17th centuries.) In many ways life for all but the rich had parallels with what you discussed in the article. I’m speaking of attitudes, not the actual living conditions, which are by and large better today.

    Some people considered my family and some others who lived up the valley where I grew up as “poor white trash”. Life was not as it was depicted in “The Waltons”, which is basically a Norman Rockwellian fantasy set in Appalachia. For years I was stung when “city slickers” referred to me as “white trash”, “dumb hillbilly”, “redneck”, etc. but one day I realized that the people who spoke condescendingly at me and my fellow “white trash” were at least as screw up as we were supposed to be. Now I “consider the source” and refer to myself by those terms. It drives some people up the wall.

    As you point out, we certainly are not a class-less society in the United States. In fact, I would argue that we never have been but that it’s a myth perpetuated by those in power who have needed the support of “the masses”, beginning with the American Revolutionary War. Most of the “Founding Fathers” did not want to give up their privileged status; many, if not most, still admired the British “upper classes” and that admiration is still evident to all but the blind in our modern society, as can be seen by the title bestowed on the wife of the President and the governors of the states: The FIRST LADY. The very words smack of royalty and are an insult to the “average” American woman. And our media is among the worst perpetrators of the myth. If I’ve heard it once I’ve heard it a thousand times: Talking heads on the TV denying that there is a class system in the United States and then before the program is over they talk about the rich, the poor, the “middle class”, the “working class”.

    One final point: You mention the belief that if you’re poor, then it’s your fault, you are the one screwing up. Like so much in our society—the attitude toward women, for example—this is a legacy, or rather a curse—from the Puritans who settled in New England in the 1600s. One of their tenets was that worldly success was proof that god was blessing the successful: The more money and possessions one had, the more obvious it was that there was a God in heaven who was smiling down upon the well-to-do and it carried (and still carries) the not-so-subtle message that if you’re poor God doesn’t like you. In Puritan New England, the Puritans anointed themselves as bringers of enlightenment, hope and prosperity to “the lesser sorts”. Today we “inferiors” are blessed by receiving the same gospel from the modern Puritans—the neo-cons and white liberals.

    • xena says:

      I’m glad somebody finally mentioned Walton Mountain. I always wondered whose pipe dream that show was. That was not my experience with the way other Americans treated Appalachian folk.(Yeah, yeah, I’m trying to be a good anthropologist and make up cute&inoffensive names to call social phenomenon. I suspect my ‘dashing appelation’ is really what I can’t take anywhere, no matter how I try to dress it up ;))

      Kinda like our tv commercial with the down syndrome boy cheering for Wayne Gretzky. Sometimes I wonder if rich white people with perfect teeth pour saccharine all over these images, so they can pretend they’re being ‘inclusive’, when they know durn well what the public tends to do with images of smiling scapegoats.

      I always preferred the pre-MRA whiny patriarchs to wear my living room garbage. Archie Bunker, Al Bundy, half the characters John Cleese and Bill Murray have played. You know the type:just misogynistic enough so you can laugh at the guy’s suffering, but not quite poor enough or anything enough so you actually feel sorry for the guy, or feel like he’s suffered enough to satisfy you. I hate the current trend toward pairing these schlepps with cute, small wives. Hollywood needs more Sandra Bernhardts and Bette Midlers to make these old guys funny again.

      I could take rednecks pounding on hipsters in the name of realitytv, I guess. But it’s too easy. Like mounting a sloth’s head on your wall and calling it your first kill. If its pelt is ugly, it can’t fight back, it does little besides sleep and eat, and its meat is no good, what’s the point in taking it down in the first place? Hipsters don’t impress me much. Outside of blogland, I barely even notice them. Unless, like I mentioned a few weeks ago, they’re rude enough to refuse me a light. Them’s fightin words…

  9. Gaina says:

    This is interesting because I’ve always been aware of class being an issue in England (it seems to come into even sharper focus when conservatives are in power. I do not believe this to be a co-incidence). It’s interesting to learn about how class divisions manifest in America.

    But anyhoo…..

    The assumptions people can make around class are really interesting. When I was 10 years old we needed move from a house to a bungalow because of my disability. The most suitable bungalow was in a on an estate that was considered ‘posh’ in my part of England, and when I moved there kids who’d known me since I was little started to bully me. They (or was it their parents?) assumed that because we’d got this bungalow in a particular area that I was of a certain class (like I’d magically moved up a social class between Friday night and Monday morning? Yeah, right). Never mind that the house was a total wreck and we’d only moved to that area because the most suitable property happened to be situated there! People would make sarcastic remarks to my parents like ‘It’ll cost £10 just to speak to you now’. And that was from FAMILY.

    I’ve had the good fortune to meet every kind of person from aristocrats to people without two pennies to rub together and curiously, the more ‘posh’ people are, the less snobby I find them. Same with people on the other end of the scale – it seems to be those in the middle who are particularly insecure about their position in life and it manifests in the most horrible snobbery.

    I hear what your saying about class compounding or alleviating some of the problems you can have inhabiting other social demographics. I’m a disabled woman living on benefits, but I live with my parents who are middle class and that makes life way, way easier for me than it does for a lot of people I know of my age, gender and race with disabilities.

    I once had a conversation with a very interesting man about class and he said ‘If you work, you’re working class. If you don’t, you’re not’.

    • Alyson says:

      I’ve had the good fortune to meet every kind of person from aristocrats to people without two pennies to rub together and curiously, the more ‘posh’ people are, the less snobby I find them. Same with people on the other end of the scale – it seems to be those in the middle who are particularly insecure about their position in life and it manifests in the most horrible snobbery.

      I agree with this….in America there’s a subset of people who like to complain about people who receive government assistance (food stamps, welfare, Medicaid, etc), as well as complain about illegal immigration. They often preface their complaints with statements about how hard they work/have worked for whatever they have. They’re almost never the ultra-rich (and they’re obviously not the very poor; if they were, they’d be eligible for the benefits for which they begrudge others), but usually in that middle group: which nowadays is a middle group terrified of dropping out of the middle into the bottom. So, therefore, they insult those “beneath” them in an effort to clarify to everyone around them that they are like not them, thereby alienating people on either end of the class spectrum.

  10. “Why Hipsters Should Replace Hillbillies, Rednecks and White Trash as Acceptable Humans for Mocking”

    Waaay ahead of ya, Ren. And that’s HillWilliam, ma’am.

  11. Mr.Grim says:

    Ren,
    First of all I love the Great American Nightmare title….I almost want to steal it . It makes for a wonderful villian’s name. I could be wrong, but I have lived an unusual life then most, not any better or any worse. I tend not to compare my life to others because we all have differnt roads that we walk and I can’t fathom what others lives maybe like. So now that I have gotten that disclaimer out of the way……here it comes. People who judge others tend to have a few things in common.
    1. The are selfish – They think of only themselves, it does not matter what others feel or think. They will put on blinders on so they can feel that it is ok for them to put others down.
    2. They have a feeling of self entitlement – It seems like no matter what the Race, Sex, Social Cast that a person is…they tend to use Self Entitlement as the blinders and it always has the same outcome. So no matter what thier Race, sex and so on is…. they all end up being the same. It is kinda ironic.
    3. They are WEAK. They lack the Willpower, Strength to make themselves better, so they must try and change other people.
    4. They are Fearful- If you listen to what the racist, bigot has to say there is always a fear in it. It always tends to sound like this:
    If the (insert group here)does(insert action) then(insert action that brings the real fear).

    So in the end. I guess I find selfish, weak, fearful people with a feeling of self entitlement to be a sad,sad joke.

    Grim

    • rootietoot says:

      I think the biggest issue is fear. It’s the genesis of the other ones-the selfishness,self entitlement and weaness. It’s the fear of something different, that isn’t understood,of perhaps being revealed as somehow inferior (they don’t do it the way I do it so they must think my way is wrong!). So rather than investigate or consider the other way, the blinders go on and the excuses start flying. To boil it down to a nugget- imagine the food we’d have to eat if no one ever tried anyone else’s recipe!

      • dead_vladimir says:

        I don’t think it is fear at all. It is contempt. It’s the we know better, we are intrinsically better. It’s not fear of being found inferior, it is resentment that the people they “know” are their inferors have the termerity to question that.

        • rootietoot says:

          That depends on who you’re dealing with. When it’s my mother, it’s FEAR…there’s nothing that frightens her more than someone who’s different, because she doesn’t understand it, she’s worried she’ll be proven wrong. With my mother in law, it’s contempt, because HER WAY HAS WORKED JUST FINE HOW DARE YOU CHANGE IT IF IT’S GOOD ENOUGH FOR ME THEN IT’S GOOD ENOUGH FOR YOU. but if you take both attitudes, I think they both look and smell life fear- of change, or being proven wrong or inferior. I wonder how much it’s perceived (as contempt or as fear) is based on the interpreter’s experiences. I see it as fear because of my mother’s perpetual deer-in-the-headlights look when confronted with something foreign, and the way I was raised to be suspicious of change (which I never quite bought into). Would you see it as contempt because of being treated contemptuously growing up? (that’ll be $330 please, you may pay the receptionist as you leave)

    • Ren says:

      Listen BoB, NAN is MINE. Ya only get ONE title….

      and I think you, Rootie and Vlad are ALL right…fear AND contempt…

  12. Poppy says:

    You are not a hick. You went to a good college and live in a middle class neighborhood with a hot tub in your backyard. I guess you think having bad tattoos on your body and a gun in the nightstand makes you a hick, but it doesn’t. you just sound pathetic, especially because you give yourself the label as if it’s a badge of honor. you are not scary, you are not threatening to people, the cvs clerk does not think that middle aged women must be cooking up crystal meth with cough syrup just because they have tattoos. it may be your fantasy that people are thinking these things about you, but trust me, no one is phased or intimidated by you because you have tattoos. They’re more likely thinking that you’re a jackass, which is an apt description of what you are.

    • xena says:

      Methinks a bitter hipster with Bag Envy has followed Her Imperial Godliness home from some radfem funding-grab blog.

      Poppy? As in “for the masses”? 😛 I bet I could whup her with no gun and my hockey stick tied behind my back!

    • Alyson says:

      Don’t talk about things you don’t know, dear.

    • rootietoot says:

      You say that like she’s a Lands-End-wearing-30-pounds-overweight-drives-the-kids-to-soccer-MWF-‘who wants some soup for supper’ housewife with a rosebud on her ankle. No, that would be *me* (minus the rosebud because I’m a wuss). She definitely does not come across as the average middle aged housewife in person. Until you meet her in person,spend a little time getting to know her, don’t make such an ignorant assumption, because you’re the one who sounds like a jackass here.

      • Ren says:

        Aww, no worries Rootie….I can’t take anyone who thinks you use cough syrup to make crank seriously….

        Or anyone who assumes all housewives are the same, or….so on, so forth, amen.

    • Ren says:

      Poppy:

      Sure enough, I went to a nice school. Sorry about that. Worked my ass off to get there too and paid for it on my own and worked real hard to get those degrees too. And I live in…well…a neighborhood. A blue collarish one, where people around me have jobs like mechanic, cop, air conditioning tech, teacher….so on….and I get to live here because a friend took pity on us and sold us the place real cheap. I originiated in the state of Colorado, went to FL from there and sure enough, I have lived in some real shit holes- and no way you can know otherwise. And sure enough, I can be a real ass. I admit that, but hey, if ya hate what I am saying? You don’t gotta read here now, do you? Nope, you have a right to click away on your browser at any time. Please use it if you don’t like what you see.

      And beleive it or not, there are plenty of folk who find little old me kind of intimidating and would in face beleive I am capable of cooking all kinds of things.

  13. I was going to reply as well but I promised I wouldn’t devour any wankers tonight after the veritable feast I had last night. A little drive-by insult that probably isn’t going to make Ren feel worse and probably isn’t making “Poppy” feel any better about herself either. Though I wish she had kept her opinion to herself and dealt with her self-esteem issues at her own online home.

Leave a Reply

