So, what did I do today?

Posted: June 30, 2011 in Awesome, Pain

Got up and went to the doc, who did another eipdural shot, but this time with the x-ray thing so he could REALLY see what he is doing….I think I like it better when he can’t.  That fuckin’ thing hurt, cramped up my leg, and well, STILL with the ow here…

But then, I got to do something cool.  What cool you ask?  Well, I got to go see President Obama leave the White House on Marine One…

Yep, this photo was taken with my Droid…

  So yeah, this is me recognizing the privilege I just had to do something that cool, the kinda thing most folk will never get to see up close like that.  It was really pretty neat to get to do that, even if my back DID hurt like heck the whole time.  I have some more photos, better ones even on my real camera, and I will post em soon enough, but yep, that’s what I did today- medical  ick followed by some serious most people will never get to do/see cool.

Comments
  1. rootietoot says:

    There you go again, flaunting your privilege. I think it’s cool that you can get to do that. If I’d had back shi…er…stuff going on, I’d be on the couch whining, not watching helicopters with important people.

    • Ren says:

      Oh, I will commence whining on the couch shortly… but it was one of those “REALLY, I can go SEE that? Bring me nice clothes to the recovery room, plz!”

      (ah yes, today’s shot was actually a ‘proceedure’, with prep and a recovery room yeehaw-not)

  2. kingschwarz says:

    Wow! I have been in meetings at the White House but never got to meet or even see POTUS. Please tell us the circumstances behind your photo op. And best wishes on a speedy recovery.

    • Ren says:

      Uh, where I live? Everyone and their brother works for the Fed, and sometimes depending on what part you work for, you get to go see cool stuff and can bring a couple people. I’ve been lucky enough to be one of those peeps a few times for various things- special tours, stuff like that, but this is the closest I have ever actually BEEN to POTUS. Heh, with the rickety back thou, Marine One nearly knocked me on my behind upon take off!

  3. Nice photo!

    My Presidential history:

    Bush the First stuck his tongue out at a contingent I was in… isn’t that just like him? LOL… he was in the back of a limo, only a few feet away from me. Also I have disrupted speeches by both Ford and Reagan. I was fairly close to Reagan; relatively far away from Ford.

    It’s a dirty job, etc. 🙂

    They mostly keep presidents far away from demonstrators these days. I can’t remember Bush the second being in any similarly vulnerable location except for Crawford. TX, where Cindy Sheehan gave him hell. Otherwise, he was sequestered, as Obama usually is too.

    • kingschwarz says:

      Daisy, would you by any chance be familiar with Root Boy Slim – an alternative to say the least bandleader of the 1970’s-80’s? There was definitely some Root/Deadhead convergence in culturally marginal and delightfully wacky space. Your comment reminds me of his song “I Used To Be A Radical,” which begins with the lyrics “Used to be a radical/Pissed on the Pentagon/Didn’t have no values/Didn’t know what was goin’ on/I climbed over the White House fence/Just to see who was the president.” Also “I drove a truck full of ice cream/Tried to hit Spiro Agnew at 60 miles an hour.” As is the case with so many of the Root’s lyrics, these constituted reportage more than invention. After graduating from Yale (where he made an enemy of George W Bush) the Root did drive an ice cream truck around DC, and one day when he was tripping he climbed the White House fence and made it onto the lawn. Sometimes I miss those days…

  4. kingschwarz says:

    Well, I was born and bred in Washington DC, but I never got close enough to Marine One to get knocked on my behind. You clearly travel in higher social circles than I.

    • Ren says:

      well, i never been to a meeting at the white house, so I guess we’re even 🙂

      • kingschwarz says:

        I have been to two WH meetings in the past two years, but this was strictly professional rather than social and confers no personal prestige. You, on the other hand, I now suspect of being an undercover debutante. If I ever see you lunching at the Sulgrave Club or golfing at Chevy you are busted!

  5. OMG, yes! I once passed out at a Root Boy Slim show!!!!!! He played several radical events I attended in the 70s and 80s… I believe the full name was Root Boy Slim and the Sex Change band. 🙂

  6. I meant that to be posted up yonder, to king… sorry about that. WordPress hates me lately!

    • kingschwarz says:

      Passed out at a Root show? Clearly you had attained full cosmic harmony in the moment, Daisy. Yes, the full name is Root Boy Slim and the Sex Change Band (with the Rootettes). The band included some really fine musicians, like Ron Holloway, a serious jazz saxophonist who went on to a stellar career. One of my regrets in life is not catching their 1979 English tour, with Ian Dury and the Blockheads (and other acts like Linton Kwesi Johnson). Some of my friends did, and the stories are great. I did catch the Root’s funeral in 1993, in a very High Episcopal church. On one side of the aisle was his family, in Brooks Brothers suits and St. John knits, and on the other were the colleagues and scenesters, wearing sunglasses and black jeans and t-shirts. When in DC, I still bump into entourage and band members, including Rootettes, occasionally.

      “Dare to be fat/Fat is where it’s at/Having a ball/With cholesterol.”

Leave a Reply

