Before I get to those Posts I’d been Planning…

Posted: May 2, 2011 in Assholes, Humans, Rants

Lemmie say this: This Post?  Yep, love it like bacon.

Now, I will also say that overall I  got no problem with people whom for whatever reason do not eat meat or use any sorta animal products…but much like ones reasons for their various religious beliefs…they need to keep that shit to themselves and not force it on other people.  I did once upon a time state that if I was ever gonna write my autobiography, the title would be “Pathologically Aggressive, Red Meat Eating Heterosexual” for a reason.  Ayep, I am a meat eater.  I rather figure that if we weren’t supposed to eat meat, it wouldn’t be so damn tasty, and the second cows learn to use guns and develop the necessary teeth, I figure myself and others are truly screwed- but be that as it may; I get why  there are people who do not eat meat or use/purchase animal products of any kind, and just like me and everyone else, here in this country at least they are entitled to believe on that matter as they choose and do as they will…but fuck all if I do not get righteously pissed at people who get righteous about it.    And true enough, a great many folk who do tend to get all preachy better than thou about it?  Ahem, why yes, they tend to be classist elitist sorts…oh yeah, and can afford to shop at the special little stores that carry what has become indeed that classist elitist better than thou food.

And I have seen vegetarian/Vegan snobbery in action.  As Aspasia can attest, there was a Sex Workers event where because some people were vegans and sooo opposed to meat, there was no meat to be found amid the food at the event- food that those of us who had paid  to attend had, in fact, already paid for.  Did we get a choice to not pay for the food there, even though in some cases merely going had but a huge dent in our pockets?  Nope, it had been included in our attendance fee.  So we were, in essence, paying for food we did not eat so others could have food they wanted- damn the rest of us (and she prolly even recalls how thrilled I was with this!)  At another similar event, after our activism and all, we were hungry, and once again, the needs of the “V’s” out weighed the wants of the meat eaters (who were the majority) and we ended up in some place where I paid 24$ for a freaking lunch that tasted so horrible to me I could not even eat it.  No, it wasn’t one of those things where V’s were willing to serve food for All dietary wants or needs, or go to a restaurant that catered to both wants and needs…there was just no meat or anything like it because well…thats how they wanted it.  ‘Cause Meat is Murder or what the fuck ever else Morrissey said…and god forbid their food even be tainted by the mere presence of meat.  Hell, the second event where I paid way too much for food I would not touch?  It relatively near me, and in the area where we were, I recommended a place that served both kinds a food (with and without animal stuff) and used Two Different Kitchens for it even…but, no…eww- icky, meat was just so foul some folk could not stand to be around it…so the rest of us just got to eat shit, literally and figuratively, because of it.

And seriously, even if you do want to eat some of that stuff?  It’s pricey.  Yeah, a good steak can be pricey too, but chicken, pork, turkey?  Those are affordable (and tasty) things.  And hearing about people’s moral objections or about how I am a goddamn barbarian because I eat meat…okay, fine, I’m a barbarian, but the preachy shit?  Sugar, that is ONE way to assure yourself when the zombie apocalypse comes and we turn to cannibalism?  Yer first on the menu…and I even have the skills to make it so from hunting my own meat!  Skinning, cleaning and de-boning too!

The simple truth of it to me is this:  EAT what you will, for the reasons that you do, but really..where do you get off telling others to do as you do, or even in some cases, forcing them to do as you do?  And like I said over there…some folk can afford the full on Vegan lifestyle or whatever…other folk?  If they want to eat at all?  They actually have to shoot what ends up on their menu because well, that’s how it is.  And I am not sure where folk who can afford tofu/soy so on so forth get off telling folk who are freakin’ thrilled with the good fortune of being able to wing a damn squirrel for three days worth of stew how horrible they are…and you know what?  A lot of ‘em?  They would.

I do also know people who are vegan or veg who are nothing like this, but I have known enough who are snot ass entitled shitheads who expect the entire world to cater to their needs because they are “more evolved” or what the fuck ever else that it was WORTHY of mentioning.

So yeah, pass the gravy.

Comments
  1. rootietoot says:

    Y’know, vegans will taste better because have you ever eaten a carnivore or an omnivore? I had possum once…NASSSTY. Cows are vegans. TAAAAASSTY! So when the Zombie Apocalypse happens….vegans…

    • Erik Schwarz says:

      Cows are vegetarians, not vegans. Well, calves are not. They are most fond of dairy products. Were they not, we would limited to goat milk and sheep cheese.

      • Rootietoot says:

        calves are vegetarians, cows are vegans…at least grass fed ones are. The corporate farm raised ones get bone meal…oh I guess cows get the bugs on the grass, which would make them insectivores or something…whatever :)
        it’s my comment and I’ll be as vague and incorrect as I want to!

  2. Erik Schwarz says:

    Since our culture is majority-carnivore, the reasonable accommodation for public events is a menu with meat and vegetarian/vegan option(s). A exception, however, should be made for religious communities. For instance, Hindu temples have a tradition of vegetarian cuisine of several thousand years standing, and when they invite the public to an event the understanding is that the food hospitality will be veg. (It will also be rich and satisfying – even barbecue aficionados and turducken eaters will walk away feeling stuffed.) My organization regularly hosts gatherings that include many faiths, and while we often offer both meat and vegetarian options, sometimes we find it just too complicated to do so. Most Hindus and Jains as well as some Buddhists are vegetarian; observant Jews must have Kosher meat; Muslims require theirs to be Halal, etc. This can be overwhelming for a caterer, so sometimes we simply offer vegetarian or veg/fish hospitality – always after consultation with and approval by the invitee faith communities. One more point about faith and meat: almost all religious traditions (including Hinduism) have a history of animal sacrifice. Traditions such as Vodou and Santeria that continue to practice sacrifice are frequently accused of barbarism and worse, despite the fact of painstaking concern for humane slaughter – the selfsame animating principle of Kosher and Halal butchering. The accusations often flow from those who happily sit down to a ritual dinner of Easter lamb or Christmas goose. Ren has set out a useful social rule: “EAT what you will, for the reasons that you do.” To that we might add “and try to understand the reasons others eat what they do.”

  3. I’ve pointed this out to V’s – not that long ago, places where I ate had smoking and non smoking sections. Generally, the majority got to choose where we sat, unless someone was asthmatic, genuinely allergic, or recovering from a cold/bronchitis/whatever. If I were in a group of 20 people who didn’t smoke, and I was the only smoker, and I DEMANDED that we all sit in the smoking section, wouldn’t they all be pissed off? Especially since I could choose not to smoke? Yeah.

    Going to a vegan eatery when only a minority are the vegan/veggies is like that. Now, if we all agree to go to a vegan place, that’s fine. I’m a meat eater who’s gone to totally vegan places for the heck of it, because sometimes it is tasty. But generally, unless your a total preachy douche, we find a middle ground. You don’t have to eat my meat, and I don’t have to not eat meat if I don’t want to.

  4. Aspasia says:

    “As Aspasia can attest, there was a Sex Workers event where because some people were vegans and sooo opposed to meat, there was no meat to be found amid the food at the event- food that those of us who had paid to attend had, in fact, already paid for. Did we get a choice to not pay for the food there, even though in some cases merely going had but a huge dent in our pockets? Nope, it had been included in our attendance fee. So we were, in essence, paying for food we did not eat so others could have food they wanted- damn the rest of us (and she prolly even recalls how thrilled I was with this!)”

    That was ri-fucking-diculous. Yeah, that was my main complaint is that, even though I lived in Chicago, it still made quite a dent in my pocket. Then, by the time we got to the food tables, what WAS available was basically gone. A few sprigs of lettuce that even a rabbit would turn their noses up at. Especially since the days were so long and there wasn’t really anything close by where we could make a quick lunch run to get something that will stick to the bones. Yeah, we were both just fucking thrilled.

    “At another similar event, after our activism and all, we were hungry, and once again, the needs of the “V’s” out weighed the wants of the meat eaters (who were the majority) and we ended up in some place where I paid 24$ for a freaking lunch that tasted so horrible to me I could not even eat it. No, it wasn’t one of those things where V’s were willing to serve food for All dietary wants or needs, or go to a restaurant that catered to both wants and needs…there was just no meat or anything like it because well…thats how they wanted it.”

    Was that here in Chicago too? I remember going to this restaurant here after DA and it was vegan and overpriced. WTF, I dropped $50 for food and I STILL needed to eat half a cow when I got home? That $50 is a month of food from Aldi’s! I don’t mind spending that money on a single meal but, well I know you’ll be with me on this one Ren, some animal would have to be presented to me on a plate. Done and done.

    • Ren says:

      nah, this one was down in DC…and the food was NASTY, just, ugh….

      I remember you and I were ready to maim people for some KFC lol. I missed the dinner you are speaking of (wandered all over the place, by myself, looking for the joint….) guess I am glad I did!

  5. These days, I mostly save my vegetarian self-righteousness (I know the song so well) for the Christian goodie-goodie ladies who like to think they are so GOOOOOD and LOOOOVING to the animals. They are self-righteous as hell, so I like to return the self-righteousness. It gets their knickers in a twist, moralists that they are, that someone thinks they are MORE moral than they are, tee hee. I can refute most of their arguments easily. Most of them are about God, whom I notice you did NOT invoke.

    In short, you aren’t the kinda person I usually get self-righteous with, since it wouldn’t be any FUN. (LOL) I admit, when people are getting all PC on my ass, its fun to take it out on that occasion and wave it in their faces. I can quote lefty/environmentalist facts and figures to a fare thee well. (PS that is the argument you missed, and whether the earth can *sustain* factory farming… which incidentally is GROSS and unnecessary. Carnivores managed for millenia without factory farming.)

    And having said that, here in the south? I am the decided minority, and it takes a bit of self-righteousness to fend off the assholes who really and truly never met a vegetarian before and ask stupid questions like, “But what do you EAT?!?”. I try to be funny and ask if I look malnourished? Do I? That just makes them more confused.

    In Gillepsie County Texas, I had to drive 22 miles for a vegetarian omelet… even the potato salad had bacon in it. Thank God for IHOP.

    • rootietoot says:

      but what do you EAT?!?

      We went vegetarian for a while when I was a kid, for economic reasons, but Dad, having been raised on a cattle ranch (grass fed, not corporate, thankyou) got fed up and made Mom stop because her idea of Vegetarian was weekly lentil loaf (gag). Now I force it on my family occasionally, but without lentils and with lotsa fancy grains, which are still cheaper than most meat. (excpet baloney and hot dogs, which are nasty and I won’t buy because I’ve seen what they look like under a microscope)

      Vegetarianism is practical and if you do it right, quite economical. but steak is O So Tasty and so is bacon.

  6. Remember, the vegans still pull moral rank on us cheese-eaters… the macrobiotic people pull rank on both… the food wars are never-ending.

    Some political vegetarians/vegans think separating factory farming from the whole issue (as I did in my last comment) is wrong and a dodge… if I’m against meat eating, I should not single out one form as worse than another. BUT I DO (I think hunting is more moral than factory farming, since the animal has had a good life) and they don’t like it when I do that… other people ONLY focus on the environment and would not be opposed to growing meat in lab (Margaret Atwood, ORYX AND CRAKE) and eating that. (I probably wouldn’t eat it, no carnivore digestive enzymes left at this point; but I see nothing wrong with it)

    In short, vegetarian/animal rights people fight like hell amongst ourselves, like every other group. Not a monolith at all, but it may seem like that from the outside.

    • rootietoot says:

      yum…cheese.
      I can’t get into moral arguments about food. My mind simply doesn’t operate on a macro-scale like that. I like venison because it tastes good. The moral argument for it is a bonus. I don’t like veal because it tastes nasty, not because it’s a terrible thing to do to a baby animal…free range eggs=good, local grass fed cow milk=good, because they all taste good until the cow gets into the wild onions.

  7. Erik: For instance, Hindu temples have a tradition of vegetarian cuisine of several thousand years standing, and when they invite the public to an event the understanding is that the food hospitality will be veg.

    And it is SUCH GREAT FOOD, WOOOO! I just love it! I like that there are so many of their restaurants everywhere now, with so many options.

    • Erik Schwarz says:

      Indian cuisines (not “cuisine” singular since India has as many regional fares, and languages, as Europe) are great. Gourmet Indian restaurants seem to be catching on, but the best meals I have had came from temples. Just as an aside, I think a primary reason that India developed a largely vegetarian set of menus is that it could not sustain its large populations on a meat-eating agricultural economy. Although several of the religions of India articulate vegetarianism as a moral or theological principle, I suspect that this may be a secondary effect. I say this as someone who is close to several Indian communities and has participated for some 20 years in various Hindu practices. Also as someone who was a vegetarian for over 10 years (but has now added some fish to his diet).

Leave a Reply

