You write one dang post with the Duke Boys & the General Lee on it…

Posted: May 10, 2010 in "Those People", Blogging, Humans, The Hardline According to Ren, WTF???

So yeah, I was actually planning on writing a post here this eve (since it has been awhile) about myself, Vlad, and the esteemed Duke Of Ashburn…so you can kind of imagine my shock when I came on over here after watching The History Channel All Day…    “bodies cut up, labels so people don’t eat there own kin”- ahem, Donner Party, for those who actually want to know…and well, this entry had blown the hell up.  Just…that one.  Sure, I axed comments on one similar entry, but just…that one.  Not in the Key of Z, just the key of X.  Because you know….I said such controversal shit there.  And there are no untrue horrible stereotypes or assumptions about….those people.  Of course.  I also find it grimly amusing to get taken to task by folk who pretty much seemed to have stopped reading me since I sacked the empire or whatever.  Oh, hey, you got your neck cut open?  Crickets.  You dare to say what you said in that post…blarg comment central fuckity fuck on you yer WRONG.

So I ask you…is this the face of a woman who is suddenly going to say OH GEE, you are all sooooo right and I (and I alone, of course) am viewing this all through a personal filter and am just rolling in all kinds of privilege and am totally unfounded in my beliefs, observations, or points????

Yeah, I don’t think so either.  Hell, I will even really go out on a limb here…as a student of history, leaning towards military history even, I will even say this guy and this guy are incredibly fascinating historical figures and if I could have a drink with two historical figures, well, they just might be my choices…though this guy is also high on my list! 

Then again, I might just hang out with my Grandfather, who had these amazing words of wisdom after his oh so joyous experiences in WWII:  “I don’t hate Germans, Germans are fine.  I hate Nazi’s”.

See that quote there?  It’s important.  Very much so.  Because that is the boiled down essence of In the Key of X; extremist level hate is NOT okay, out of ANYONE.  No Group of people…not a single goddamn one…deserves to be judged by any hateful extremist groups that might be within it.  That kind of hatred is not acceptable out of anyone; not white people, not people of color, not men, not women, not christians, muslims, jews or teh sooper sekret Fuck Zen Buddhist Militia.  It ain’t okay.  And there are no qualifications you can put on it that makes it more or less okay.  At least not in my house you can’t.   You might be able to “get” it, but getting it is not the same thing as saying “that’s okay”.  Hell, maybe I just wasn’t clear enough in the Key of X.  It should be clear now I hope. 

Because guess what?  On that matter?  I ain’t wrong.  If you feel otherwise…please redirect yourself to the photo.

Comments
  1. Amber Rhea says:

    What a fucking disaster that thread is. But not surprising AT ALL.

    As usual, props to you, Ren.

  2. Gaina says:

    Maybe you should put an advisory on your blog that it’s not recommended for the Hard of Thinking? 😉

    ‘Fuck Zen Buddhist Militia’ **Whips out blood red Fountain Pen of Doom and pops the cap**. They sound like my kinda people! Where do I sign? 😀

  3. Lisa KS says:

    Love the pic. 😀

  4. Lisa KS says:

    Well, now that I can sit at the computer long enough, I must go wade through all 5 million comments on that thread ::holds nose and jumps in::

  5. Erik says:

    I did a little research to find out who populates the Fuck Zen Buddhist Militia and found three major demographics: Pure Land Buddhists who believe that Zen practice is, in fact, delaying enlightenment; Shintoists, especially from the mountain-worship sects, who feel that Zen cultural influence interferes with the restoration of a purer Japanese national identity; and Unitarian Universalists, a denomination notorious for its exclusivist theology and hatred of other religions. The Militia has no official insignia but is associated with the popular “monkbuster” logo ( a red circle with diagonal slash through a seated Zen meditator). A fast-growing hate group – look for new adherents from Reconstructionist Judaism and High-Church Episcopalianism – and one to keep an eye on.

    • Gaina says:

      They really exist? Haha. I have to tell you I’m disappointed. I thought the titled alluded to knocking boots with hot baldy dudes in orange robes. And I gotta tell you, ‘delayed enlightenment’ sounds suspiciously like ‘delayed gratification’ to me…and the hate? Just not my thing. I think I’ll stick to witchcraft, thanks. XD

  6. octogalore says:

    “Of course. I also find it grimly amusing to get taken to task by folk who pretty much seemed to have stopped reading me since I sacked the empire or whatever. Oh, hey, you got your neck cut open? Crickets. You dare to say what you said in that post…blarg comment central fuckity fuck on you yer WRONG.”

    TOTALLY identifying with this… except for the neck part, of course.

    The fact that you are NOT “a woman who is suddenly going to say OH GEE, you are all sooooo right and I (and I alone, of course) am viewing this all through a personal filter and am just rolling in all kinds of privilege and am totally unfounded in my beliefs, observations, or points” is one of many reasons I am a big fan.

Leave a Reply

