Okay then, lets see your bones- throw ’em like it matters.

Posted: May 10, 2010 in Blogging, Humans

Okay, yes, I can see why some folk were surprised, shocked, stunned, offended, taken aback, what the hell else ever to find little old me talking about this controversal item of American History.  I can see where people would and do find that there thing to be nothing more than a symbol of racism and hate (I could argue that, and maybe will at a later point, but today is not that day.)  However, that in mind, please, join me in a game of point and click and why yes, let’s ALL just sit back a spell and explore the wonderful world of things that damn well straight could be offensive to others yet, humm, some people might display them.  The totally obvious example of this sort of thing?  Won’t ever be found or linked on my blog, just for the record.

Visual Aid One:  Often found on clothing and assorted works of art.  Could be extremely offensive to any Veteran of WWII.

Visual Aid Two:  Represents a nation with a pretty impressive record of War, oppression, Racism, Slavery, Religious intolerance, and Expansionist mentality.

Visual Aid Three:  Wildly popular these days, seen on everything from body art to children’s clothing.  While more racially tolerant than most groups of their day, responsible for great amounts of crime and rape.

Visual Aid Four:  May be extremely offensive and representative of tyranny, violence and war to anyone from, oh, say Palestine?

Visual Aid Five:  Making a retro comeback, really, and still popular amid sports fans who collect Olympic memorabilia.  Sort of speaks for itself, really.

Visual Aid Six:  I have no problem with this one personally, but a whole ton of people worldwide see it as symbol of evil and oppression.

Visual Aid Seven:  Called even openly the root of all evil and responsible for ALL kinds of skeevy shit, yet people still sport it plenty.

And Last But Not Least:  A symbol used by countless people who have committed extreme acts of violence, aggression, intolerance, murder, torture and just about every other horrible thing you can think of against just about anyone.

yet- people wear and display these things- often.  Discuss at will.

Comments
  1. dead_vladimir says:

    where’s the mcikey mouse ears? worst sign of oppression ever.

  2. rootietoot says:

    How on Earth am I supposed to keep up with all this? I’m still hung over from yesterday.

  3. Gaina says:

    Ugh, woman! Do you not realize how much I’m looking forward to ditching ‘Contextual Studies’ once my degree is done? And here you are filling my poor little brain with more of this stuff!! Haha.

    The ultimate ‘hot potato’ of course, is this onebest. Variously used as a Celtic healing rune, to adorn Buddhist temples and carried all manner of other benign connotations, but will sadly be forever sullied by it’s adulteration in the name of hateful fascism.

    Personally I don’t get why people cling so fervently onto what is basically nothing more that a piece of cloth with a pattern on it (I’ve never been one for joining the herd), but I say the best way to destroy negative connotations of things like flags is if we all have one, then it loses it’s power as a symbol of hate.

    • Ren says:

      yeah, that is the one I wasn’t gonna link, even thou in a great many cultures-well shoot, not a nazi thing at all.

      And being me, and bored, and well, me…I have completely fried my brain seriously, seriously delving into ALL KINDS of civil war history here lately (please, I live in VA, and well, the Battle of Bull Run and such? Happened like, oh, seven minutes from where I live…all KINDS of stuff can be learned- and in my actual schooling, well, yes, more with the military history) and the stuff I’ve learned has been…very interesting.

      I just may have to post on that.

  4. Erik says:

    C’mon, pirates?! Who doesn’t love pirates – at least pirates of the Caribbean? You know they weren’t really violent at all. That’s a hoary myth propagated by the nasty colonial powers bent on oppressing them. Pirates were just idealistic, if occasionally unsanitary, people who chose to live in floating intentional communities with parrots, monkeys and other companion animals. I am shocked that you would put pirate flags – used strictly for noncompetitive “earth games” and other harmless trust-building fun – in the same category as the blood-drenched Union Jack.

    • Ren says:

      Heh. Heheh. “The Sun Never Sets on the British Empire because no one in their right mind would trust them in the dark”.

      I do hope you picked up at least a LITTLE bit of tongue in cheek humor in this post.

  5. Eli says:

    Evil Canadians.

    Now I’m going to think some deep thoughts on the relation between symbols and the meanings associated with them, and whether it’s even possible to try to subvert conventional associations without the risk of being seen to support them…

  6. rootietoot says:

    Here’s a thought I had (I have them occasionally, you know…shhh. wouldn’t want to ruin my rep)
    What’s more important about a symbol: the perception other people have upon seeing it (such as : that person with the confederate flag is a redneck), or the intent of the person using it (such as a blue and white star of David representing Zionism). How incumbent is it upon the person using the symbol to consider the perceptions of others?
    I use symbols all the time. I frequently wear a Celtic cross around my neck, because I am both of Celtic (among other things) heritage and a Christian. I fly an American flag, have an NRA sticker on my car (when I remember to pay the membership). There are myriad conclusions people could draw from those, but I’ve never much thought about what people could think. Should I? What if people see a contradiction between the cross and the NRA sticker? I don’t particularly care, but I also don’t want to confuse folk.

    • Ren says:

      what, christians can’t have guns? See, it makes sense to me… You’re an American. US America was founded by Christians with Guns…

      • rootietoot says:

        well yeah you know that, and I know that, but some people like to look for agenda inconsistencies (even ones that don’t exist) just to stir stuff up. A funny: last week at my Prayer group (6 ladies) we got to discussing guns, and one of the ladies is arranging a field trip to the local skeet range for a little in-house competition. The preacher’s wife said “Oh Peggy! Bring your pistol! I’ve never shot a pistol before!”
        Presbyterian Women With Guns. Be Afraid. Ok Be Amused.

Leave a Reply

