“proof that villains don’t “arrest” people…”

Posted: January 11, 2010 in Gaming

There has been some debate about this amid players of CoX, and I have long insisted that while on the hero side, you do not kill people, on the villain side…you most certainly do.  When your mission text includes things like “no witnesses” and “I to want visit him in the morgue” I’d say that was pretty obvious.  However, some folk just do not like to accept the fact that well, yeah….in this game, villains often whack their enemies…and some of ’em, even no matter how many times you point out that kinda text, well, lets just say maybe they should stick to playing heroes.

In any event, proof positive that villains actually well- are villains!  My favorite bad gal, Phreak Drive, standing over the corpse of Iconic Game Hero, Ms. Liberty…shot from the end of the big time high level villain Strike Force  (where you pretty much waste every big time NPC hero in the game…)

Fun strike force, really, but then again…

I like playing villains.

Comments
  1. rootietoot says:

    Of course killing people the difference between heroes and villains! I would think so! I would also think (for me) during Certain.erm…Times, whacking people would be most satisfactory. Even people I’m supposed to be siding with might get ‘poked’ (there was a character in The Stand who ‘poked’ people with his ‘Pokeriser’. I’ve always thought if I had a villain I’d have a Pokeriser). What’s the oint i having a City of Villains if you can’t be villainous?

    The characters that amuse me are the ones who sneak the villainy in…get people to trust them and all then *boop* do something nasty and shock everyone.

  2. Of course villains kill people – how else do they get rid of awkward opposition? It’s not like they can sue them in court or something!

    And if they went around arresting people, then there’d have to be villain prisons everywhere (which presumably would suffer from overcrowding, because everyone would have to be serving a life sentence, surely?)

    Oh yeah, and I’m glad Ms. Liberty gets her comeuppance, she struck me as being quite stuck up!

  3. Erik says:

    I know nothing, nada, zilch, ugazz, gornisht about the gaming world to which you refer, but your claim holds true for villains generally. After all, Boris Badenov’s tagline to Natasha Fatale is “Have plan to KILL moose and squirrel,” not “prepare to LITIGATE against Rocket J Squirrel and Bullwinkle Moose, Esq.”

  4. hexy says:

    You make me want to play this game!

  5. Lisa Harney says:

    Sure, but they usually teleport to the hospital and are good as new within minutes. Yay alien-based medical tech.

  6. Personally, I don’t like to take such an either-or approach to it. I’ve got villain characters who have reasons for not killing people. (One grows more powerful from the fear of people she’s fought before, for example. And another in my version of the story killed the contact instead of the person she was sent to kill, because he’d done something that pissed her off.)

    On the other side, I have a hero character who has very effective means of making bodies disappear… Although she doesn’t care to waste them on the regular stupid shit. Besides, the well-prepared vigilante also has uses for fear. It all depends.

    • Ren says:

      see, i guess in this one, they make it pretttttyyyy evident, Liberty is dead….

      I have a hero that so ain’t a hero though…

      • I think it’s safe to say that I don’t always care what the game’s showing me. After all, no matter how many of my characters kill that Angelo guy, he never actually goes away.

        And Bel would totally electrocute the person who tried to go for a finishing blow on Liberty. For some ordinary mook, not worth bothering. But Liberty is so valuable to her alive and worthless to her dead…

Leave a Reply

