oh yeah…

Posted: December 24, 2009 in Personal

The most freakin’ perfect post picture for me….ever.

I was gonna title this post “Everything I ever Needed to know About Life I learned from ‘The Watchmen'” but I think someone else is using that title here shortly.

So yeah, lemmie wax on about the holiday cheer around this joint right about now…

Parents arrived last nite around 8.  Two hours after that my mom was- via 911 and an ambulance in the ER.  She’s been admitted and remains in the hospital now- we’re hoping to get her back here sometime tomorrow.   Nothing too tremendously serious, she’s feeling much better now, but yeah. 

Now, not to go into to great of detail ’cause I totally do not feel like it, but yeah, today I had the pleasure of seeing what one might call a medical professional of sorts, and while speaking to this fellow, it became clear to me he has very set (and old school) ideas about the way men are supposed to be and the way women are supposed to be- in the mental/behavior department.  I am sure a lot of folk come at life with this template in mind and base whatever off of it because they figure its probably not a bad base….but yeah, I am so totally not in the “supposed to be” department in just about all ways.  And check this y’all…that attitude and shit is sexist as hell and it pisses me right the fuck off.  It is not wise for one to assume that just because Miz Evolution has a vagina that she has issues and concerns and behaviors that one might deem”womanly”, because when ya do, you are only going to end up sorely disappointed.  And, well, I might laugh at/scare you.  I think I did both, actually. 

I have also been seriously lacking CoH/CoV in my life here lately….

So what does one do, after a long day of back and forth to the hospital and putting lights on a tree and (still) shovelling snow and dealing with shit???

You spend a fine bit of quality time with The Comedian and Rorschach.  And a beer.

Comments
  1. Deb Sens says:

    Hear, hear! I am also not really a touch feely type preson and get kind of resentful when people expect me to be that……my husband on the other hand is much more outward about his emotions….thers nothing wrong wtih that either….why is it so hard for people to accept that people are just different! Hope your holidays are going well1

  2. You know better than to expect anything decent from someone in thier line of work…

  3. and we’ve been seriously lacking our Ren in COH/COV

  4. antiprincess says:

    thinking of y’all – hope your mom is okay.

  5. Gaina says:

    At least if you’re confounding stereotypes you know you’re not boring! Haha.

    Hope your Mum feels better soon and you all have a nice day tomorrow :).

  6. Every healing wish sent your mother’s way. I hope she improves soon and you can have a good holiday in the end despite it all.

    Sexist assumptions get in the way of good care. Doc should learn better!

  7. My mother also took ill at Christmas in 1997… awful time we had of it.

    Hope your holidays are otherwise happy, Ren!

  8. rorshack says:

    Chainsaw to the face and get a new Doctor..
    Healing wishes sent..

  9. Best wishes to your Mom!

    I can only imagine what that doctor said to you. I’m sure his encounter with you will stand out for years to come.

  10. rootietoot says:

    WHY is the Comedian so HOT? WHY!? He’s NOT MY TYPE! and yet…*sigh*

Leave a Reply

