Why I am a misanthrope…

Posted: October 8, 2009 in Humans, Uncategorized

Because people are weird, y’all.  They scare me, for real.  I don’t get people.  I’ve tried, all that, but still ?  Not so much, me with the getting of people.

Just today-  Had someone pull a universal on me.  Had someone who I know and dig cause she is cool get so drunk in a bar that there is no way I was letting her stay there or whatever alone because I did not want anything bad to happen to her or for her to do anything she would regret.  She was having fun, but I could forsee a bad outcome.  had someone with a really good heart try and “get” me and then only end up more depressed than ever.  Why is it that some people just do not accept “i am wired different than you” as a legit answer?

See, I’m watching Sharon attack her own tail right now.  I like and get Sharon more than I like or get people most of the time. 

Man, humans,  I swear I do not understand most of ya

Comments
  1. Vladimir says:

    What’s a universal?
    And good hearts only count when it is time for a transplant.
    I;ve never understood what the whole big deal is with people getting other people. When someone says hey ” I need to get you, I find it diminishing, as if you are so different from people that it takes a special great effort on their part to relate to you. Frankly every person on this planet (with the exception of myslef of course) has tons of issues, and neds to worry less about “getting” people who are different from them, and just be more accepting. You don;t need to understand a person or fit them into yuor box of oh they are different than me from x, to give a damn

    Just my two cents

  2. Jessica says:

    “I am wired different than you.” Hm. Interesting thought. Not better or worse necessarily, just…different. As someone who’s similarly wired (to you), I like that thought. And the thought that being wired different doesn’t make anyone a war criminal any more than being wired normally makes anyone a saint. Nice 🙂

  3. rootietoot says:

    Humans scare the snot out of me, and yet…I keep trying. Once in a while I’ll meet someone who isn’t shocked and dismayed by my past (once I know them well enough to confide). I suppose that’s what keep me trying. It’s also what keeps my mouth shut until I *really* know them, like, they have to confide first.

    We’re all wired differently. Knowing that is called “self actualization” and is approaching the pinnacle of emotional growth. The people who know they’re different are (hopefully) the same ones who are able to accept that difference in others and not get all squirrely about it.

    The hard part is actually finding them. The harder part is not being disappointed when they fail, I mean, wouldn’t you want them to cut you some slack when you fail? My best friend can say “Rootie, you’re a dumbass about that” and I know she comes from a place of love with it,because she’ll have my back right after that. You may only find one or 2 people in your whole life like that, but isn’t it worth it to muddle through the rest of the population to find one?

  4. Stone Fox says:

    well i think you’re cooler than sliced bread on the other side of my pillow.

    as for the person who didn’t “get” you and ended up more depressed than ever? did you notice how they completely turned it around so it was about them? about how THEY didn’t get you and now THEY are totally going to throw themselves off the roof?

    and i don’t know if i “get” you (i think you’d have to answer that one), but i think you’re swell. (yeah, swell. i am single-handedly bringing down your Internet Cool Factor)

    • rootietoot says:

      same here, SF…I don’t particularly “get” Ren, as in…OMG I’d NEVER do what she does! But that doesn’t make her any less intereresting or worth my time. Howver, there are parts I TOTALLY get, and one doesn’t cancel out the other.

    • Vladimir says:

      awesome point about how it was all about them Stone Fox !

  5. Anji says:

    I always say this about my rats. I prefer rats to humans. You know where you are with rats. They have no subtle nuances or tones of voice or facial expressions I can’t understand, they just… are. Having a personality disorder makes life pretty difficult because 90% of the time I honestly do not understand other people, their thoughts and opinions and emotions. I’d rather be with my rats, because they are so much easier to understand!

  6. Gaina says:

    Humans? Frackin’ bonkers, the whole lot of ’em. That’s why I only talk to cats now. 😉

  7. Ernest Greene says:

    Years ago I spent a long, intoxicated evening arguing with an extremely inteligent friend about human beings. I contended that they weren’t so much bad as irrational and unpredictable, which made them dangerous.

    Being one to cut to the chase, he insisted that what I really meant was that I thought human beings were rotten and that I hated them.

    After furiously denying this for decades, I’ve more or less been forced to concede the point.

  8. Lisa KS says:

    I find human beings irrational, but frequently not unpredictable–unfortunately, the ones in my personal life I do often find unpredictable, because my feelings for them usually fog my analytical ability. However, for the rest of the population, they’re not too unpredictable. Assume that whatever they are doing is based on an inflated sense of self-importance and the desire to either be in charge (less often) or be a particularly admired member of the herd (more often). Deduce what they would do in any given situation based on that and you will find yourself with a 90% success rate in predictability. Also engage in daily self-lectures about why it would be unproductive and shirking of your responsibilities to run away to a deserted island someplace with a beach and never come back..! Oops, sorry, got carried away there. 😀

  9. Ernest Greene says:

    Statistically, the larger the sampling, the more predictable. By the time you get down to individuals, bets become distinctly risky.

  10. Kristen says:

    Eh…We are selfish. We seek pleasure (self-defined) and avoid pain (self-defined). We are social, status seeking creatures that use empathy only to build social groups, often insular groups that improve our relative status.

    We have different time horizons/risk profiles. We lack the ability to properly calculate probabilities which makes us, not irrational per se, but unable to apply rational thought to decision making. We’re not unpredictable, imo, just difficult to predict if you don’t have all the relevant information.

    I think that reasonably describes 98 percent of the population.

    • Ren says:

      Kristen: Well, yeah, most of you are. I like pleasure, but I am anti social. and oft times have an F- in empathy…but when I do, its for real.

      hence my problems with humans.

      • Kristen says:

        Eh, we’re all social. We may not hang out at parties, but we need the company of other humans…as in family, friends, even human voices through the tv…full isolation destroys the human psyche pretty quick.

        As for empathy, I didn’t mean to imply that what we feel as empathy isn’t real, just that who we choose to empathize with reflects the social groups we are a part of and wish (even subconsciously) to gain acceptance into. Which is why I empathize with rape victims, but not rapists even though I suppose if pressed I’d admit that both are in fact human. Why some people empathized with Polanski and others didn’t.

  11. Had someone pull a universal on me.

    Someone tried to smash you with a universal joint?

  12. rachel cervantes says:

    I “get” people sometimes. And I convince myself I do the rest of the time even when I don’t. It’s comforting to think we “get” other people. It makes us feel safer. If we “get” others we can predict their behavior. If we can predict their behavior we can protect ourselves from them. You see, I “get” that totally.

    What I don’t get is how I can know that and still be such a Pollyanna.

    It’s a beautiful mornin’ ahhh
    I think I’ll go outside a while
    An jus’ smile
    Just take in some clean fresh air boy
    Ain’t no sense in stayin’ inside
    If the weather’s fine an’ you got the time
    It’s your chance to wake up and plan another brand new day
    Either way
    It’s a beautiful mornin’ ahhh

    Yup, me and those Rascals.

  13. Dw3t-Hthr says:

    Every so often I’ll plonk my lion in front of some internets blowup or another and wail, “What the hell is going on here?”

    He’s much better at ‘people’ than I am.

Leave a Reply

