General Stuff…cats, Michael Vick, and other things…

Posted: September 24, 2009 in Sharon & Oz, Sports

As opposed to General Panic, General Apathy, and Generals of the military…

I have decided that Sharon and Ozzy, Sharon specifically, are pure evil wrapped in cute fur.  She seems to be totally against letting the humans in the household sleep.  If any one part of one’s body is not wrapped in blankets while attempting to sleep, it is chewed on.  Early this morning while attempting to sleep, I was wrapped up like a tamale in blankets and she decided, purring and all, to settle down to sleep on my head.  Like, directly on the side of my head.  Oh, did I mention it is still around 80 degrees here?  Yeah…it’s still warm here.  So, between the sweating if one wants to avoid being chewed on or the chewing if one opts for air, not much sleep going on here because Sharon is eeeevill.  Oz?  Oz will just lay down on you and fall asleep…that is, until Sharon attacks him, then the bed becomes kitty thunderdome and all bets are off.  Yeah, you haven’t lived until you have had two kittens who are wired up like speed freaks run across your chest-claws out- at two in the morning. 

Oz also has an odd habit of joining people in the shower…with the water on and everything.  If he starts shaving his legs, I am really gonna wonder…

Speaking of cats and water thou, have you seen this?  I laughed.  I admit it.

I am debating if I should go back to bed or not…hummm. 

In other news, I am still trying to decide how I feel about Michael Vick playing for the Eagles.  See, I sorta like the Eagles, I’m a big Donovan McNabb fan.  As some of you may (or may not know) Vick (who played QB for the Atlanta Falcons in the NFL) was arrested and convicted and did time for dog fighting– well, after he was released from prison, a lot of people figured either A) NFL teams deseperate for a QB of Vick’s calibre would be knocking down his door or B) he would never play in the NFL again.  Both were wrong.  The Philly Eagles were the only team who even showed much of an interest in him.  And as the Eagles are a team I like, I remember when I heard they signed Vick I was like “Great…that blows”.  Coach Andy Reid suggested that he thought Vick deserved a second chance, and a lot of other people agree, saying that Vick was young, he did his time, he is in debt beyond belief, is now speaking on behalf of animal rights organizations, in essence, attempting to make amends.  Still though, in my head, it is not like Vick accidentally hit a dog with his car, you know?  He tortured and murdered a lot of animals.  For sport and profit.  That doesn’t sit well with me at all…

But when the NFL will let a lot of guys who are notorious woman beaters, involved in shootings, so on, so forth, continue to play, I guess Vick should not seem that special.  Athletes are in many ways our modern gods, and get away with shit the average person never would…but that is a rant for a different day I suppose….and I am a sports fan.

I guess I feel like yeah, Vick should get to play, but no matter how brilliant he might be on the football field, what he did?  Flat out wrong and sick, and that should not be forgotten.  I will even admit part of me hopes he really sucks, can’t play like he used too, and gets cut. 

In other football news, the Denver Broncos have managed to win their first two games!  This is nothing short of a miracle, and it may be the only two wins they get all season, but I am happy!   I also still have a major crush on Brett Favre, even if he is now wearing purple.  Via Gin…

Heh.

Okay, more sleep now, hopefully without cats on my head or attempting to eat me.  More real blogging at some later date.

Comments
  1. Cara says:

    See, this is precisely why in my house, the cat is locked out of the bedroom at night 🙂

  2. Aeryl says:

    You think two kittens are bad, try six!!

    And on top of the six kittens, we had the three cats who are our usual residents.

    Fun! Not.

    It’s great when you lay down on the couch, cuz then you get covered in kittens, like the trees in Africa with goats in them.

  3. Joan Kelly says:

    Cara I did the same thing, after one cat chased another across my face while I was sleeping, claws out. Oof.

    But – my cats were full grown when I banned them from my bedroom. (And it’s not just at night – the youngest one dug a couple of holes in my box springs like an effing badger, and after that I was like, guess who lives in the front part of the apartment now?) When my cats were kittens, I don’t think I could have kept them out of my room. Baby animals were made for sleeping-next-to.

    Ren, my twin had a kitten once who came at her face like an angry little vampire in the middle of the night. Didn’t have the heart to kick her out of the bedroom either. That’s their evilness. Too cute to defend oneself against.

    Hope Sharon at least finds something else to chew at night soon…

    Also, agree about Vick, all of it.

  4. I may be a Packers fan, but I still like Brett wherever he plays – but he better not win at Lambeau Field this year!

    I’m with you re: Vick, and personally I feel that players who do things quite deliberately that are likely to get them in jail, then they aren’t reliable enough to be on a professional sports team. There’s nothing okay about what Vick did, and I have to view him as an unpleasant human being for that, so I want him to crash and burn. but if the ERagles organisation want to give him a chance, that’s up to them.

    I was hoping to find online the lyrics to a filk song about a vampire kitten, but nothing’s coming up (there’s another one with the classic line “The settee’s mine again, when darkness falls” – it parodies a line “the city’s mine again…”)

  5. Gaina says:

    Oh you should talk to my best friend, she has just got the ‘rampaging toddler streak’ out of her two, but they do grow out of it! Haha

    I think I may be my turn to be the brutal, merciless cyborgwhen it comes to Michael Vick. Like you say, it wasn’t as if the animals suffered due to a simple lack of education on the part of the owners. He deliberately exploited their suffering for profit.

    I had to laugh when one commenter on a news website offered to donate money to his local shelter every time another player took him down in his first game.

    Watching from outside the US, I have to say the difference between the things that get our footballers (soccer players) sacked and what the NFL will tolerate from their players is very interesting.

  6. rootietoot says:

    As much as Michael Vick’s behavior disgusts me, he didn’t do anything particularly egregious, in the grand scheme. I mean, stuff like that happens all over, like you said, wife beaters and child abusers, etc. They’re athletes, not Boy Scouts. Their training involves aggression and physicality, not compassion and wise decision making. I don’t approve of it, but I am not surprised by it, and wonder why anyone else is.

    As for Ozzy and Sharon, well, I have 2 cats as well, and they aren’t allowed in the bedroom at night. I tried it a couple of times and they seemed to think our heads were meant to be jumped on. Nope, no more. In fact, we have a room they spend the night in, so they won’t tear up the rest of the house out of feline spite.

  7. Roy Kay says:

    I’m surprised that anyone would hire Vick. It’s not like he’s Karadczk (sp?), but I find it hard to be charitable to the intentionally inhumane and brutal. I see him in the same light as I see prosecutors who get convictions of people they know haven’t had a chance to make a case – “because that’s the way the game is played”.

  8. PhysioWife tried to keep her cat out of the bedroom when we first started living together, but the little fucker loudly meowed and tapped the door with her fucking paw ALL MOTHERFUCKING NIGHT LONG! After a week of this, we just gave up and let her in.

  9. Couple of short thoughts,

    Vick…….. How many of those saying Vick deserved another chance, that he was young, etc, would be in the HR office in 5 minutes if they discovered a co worker had committed far less felonies than Vick. Why are exceptions made for sports heroes and for celebrities? We either need to give everyone a clean slate, have a process to determine a clean slate fairly and not just based on celebrity, or not give one. Being a rock star, a great musician, a famous football player, those don’t somehow transcend awful crimes.

    Vick did some horrible shit. And doesn’t seem to be particularly phased about what he did to the dogs. He says it was wrong, it was wrong, blah blah, about how he cried in prison……….. He still hasn’t accounted a whole lot for the suffering he caused and the dealth he caused. Just more from him about how he learned, about how he suffered. That is the default about prison. One is supposed to suffer and learn.

    Back to the felonies though. If Vick deserves another chance, so does the car thief or the drug dealer who get out of prison and can’t get a job bagging groceries because of their criiminal record. Vick got a very lucky break committing horrible crimes and has his millionaire job back with his big gripe being not getting a drop back quarterback starting position.

    To Denver, Josh McDaniels may have things figured out more than realized.

    Cleveland, Eric Mangini is awful. He seems like a little child pretending to be grown up Bill Belichek but only being able to mimic adult words but not having a clue what they mean.

    Jim Zorn, better start checking craigslist for job openings. However, Daniel Snyder is the leagues worst owner. Every coach he hires tends to be looking for a new job after 2 years and doesn’t have much more success than Zorn has had. Snyder thinks he should run the Redskins the say way one runs a fantasy football team. Terrible owner destroying a long football tradition.

    New England, Note to Joey Galloway, the idea is to catch the balls Brady throws, not duck them or bat them away. Football Joey,,,, Football,,,, Dodgeball was the game you played in sixth grade………

  10. jovan b. says:

    I have a dog and it sleeps in the living room. Of course, I keep my bedroom door closed at night.

Leave a Reply

