Cleared for take off

Posted: February 27, 2010 in Personal

So, I spent the majority of the day running all over the northern part of the state getting all the forms and whatnot that I needed done for my surgery  (8am, March 11th…first human baked potato to be carved of the day!  Woohoo!)…  I got everything straight with the insurance, got my blood work done and my physical (surpise, I am healthy as hell, especially for a struggling to be ex-smoker), I got my EKG  (did you know it takes longer for them to actually put on all those little electrodes than it does to do the EKG itself???) I did all the pre-op paperwork (man am I tired of writing my full legal name!) and then, finally, I got to eat!  Fasting for blood work when your blood work is not until 3:30 pm is a pain in the sad empty stomach.

In any event, it seems that I am cleared for take off!

Comments
  1. Kai says:

    Hey! Progress! Best of wishes for a successful surgery and a speedy recovery, Ren

  2. Glad the insurance is all straight this time!

    The first time I had an EKG (years and years ago), guh, taking those electrodes off was traumatizing since I tend to be…**ahem** a bit hairy and my skin is sensitive.

  3. Ernest Greene says:

    You know it’s time when you’re actually looking forward to surgery.

    Best of luck.

  4. Rorshack says:

    I have various appendages crossed for you and a trouble free successful surgery.

  5. Roy Kay says:

    Just hoping it goes well and you recover quickly.

  6. rootietoot says:

    I have NEVER understood why they wait until mid afternoon for fasting blood work. I have it done monthly, and show up at the lab promptly at 8 am, no matter what time the appointment is. Once they complained and I said ‘I’m bipolar, do you *REALLY* want me to go until noon without my meds and coffee?” ” ah…” she answered. It wouldn’t have mattered, but I believe in playing the bp card when it serves me

    Best wishes with it all, it has been a…well, quite a ride, and I know you’ll be thankful when it’s all over.

    • Aspasia says:

      Until mid-afternoon? Hmm, I wonder if there is a difference of region regarding lab work times? My mom has to have fasting blood work done almost every month because of the meds she’s on and the usual lab time is about 9:30am. The absolute latest ever was at about 11 am and that was only because it was a couple weeks before the beginning of fall term and so the lab was overrun with students.

Leave a Reply

